The Lewis Man

This dark murder mystery novel (384 pages) was published in September of 2014 by Quercus Books. The book takes you to the Isle of Lewis, off the coast of Scotland. Melissa read The Lewis Man and loved it; it wouldn't be on our site if she didn't recommend it.

buy is an online bookstore with a mission to financially support independent bookstores and give back to the book community.


The Lewis Man

The Lewis Trilogy

Peter May

In Peter May’s Blackhouse trilogy set on the Isle of Lewis, the past creeps into the present like a cold fog rolling in off the sea. Our hero, beleaguered ex-cop Fin Macleod, is trapped in an endless wrestling match between the life he wants and the one he struggles to leave behind.

The action kicks off when a preserved body is found in a peat bog on the island. It’s no ancient relic, but is instead, a fairly modern murder victim etched with stab wounds and an Elvis tattoo.

Fin has ditched his life in Edinburgh — along with his wife and career — to move back to the bleak island of his birth. He plans to restore a decades-old romance as he refurbishes his family’s ancient crofthouse.

But his peace is disrupted by torturous memories and the complications of the murder case. He and his childhood sweetheart are dragged into the investigation, and the tenuous repairs they’ve made on their lives are torn apart by old tensions and new revelations.

The weather and terrain of Fin’s beautiful but unforgiving birthplace is an influential character in this story. Every day on the island is a test of wills between the people and the land, and that creates a certain kind of person. It fosters secrets. It encourages mystery. Slowly, the brutal truths of the previous decades are uncovered, and Fin must fight with all of his heart to protect the people he loves if there’s any chance of a brighter future.

All along the ragged coastline, the sea sucked and frothed and growled, tireless legions of riderless white horses crashing up against the stubborn stone of unyielding black cliffs. — Peter May

This is the second book in The Lewis Trilogy by Peter May. We also recommend The Blackhouse and The Chessmen.

keep reading

Craggy islands, damp peat bogs, twisty lanes of cobblestones, vast swaths of green to make your heart soar — Scotland is a beautiful country with larger-than-life heroes (and heroines) and more than a few ghosts.
Stunning windswept landscapes, a rebellious national spirit, an affinity for smart tartan plaids, a predilection for ghost stories, and an appreciation of a wee dram o' whisky. Scotland is all this and so much more.

sharing is caring!

Wanna help us spread the word? If you like this page, please share with your friends.

our mission

Strong Sense of Place is a website and podcast dedicated to literary travel and books we love. Reading good books increases empathy. Empathy is good for all of us and the amazing world we inhabit.

our patreon

Strong Sense of Place is a listener-supported podcast. If you like the work we do, you can help make it happen by joining our Patreon! That'll unlock bonus content for you, too — including Mel's secret book reviews and Dave's behind-the-scenes notes for the latest Two Truths and a Lie.

get our newsletter

Join our Substack to get our FREE newsletter with podcast updates and behind-the-scenes info join in fun chats about books and travel.

no spoilers. ever.

We'll share enough detail to help you decide if a book is for you, but we'll never ruin plot twists or give away the ending.

super-cool reading fun
reading atlas

This 30-page Reading Atlas takes you around the world with dozens of excellent books and gorgeous travel photos. Get your free copy when you subscribe to our newsletter.

get our newsletter
Sign up for our free Substack!
follow us

Content on this site is ©2024 by Smudge Publishing, unless otherwise noted. Peace be with you, person who reads the small type.