Cave Castle, Reading Treehouse, Iceland Writers Retreat, Book Hangovers & More: Endnotes 02 October

Cave Castle, Reading Treehouse, Iceland Writers Retreat, Book Hangovers & More: Endnotes 02 October

Friday, 2 October, 2020

Every Friday, we celebrate the weekend — and all the reading and relaxing and daydreaming time ahead — with Melissa's favorite book- and travel-related links of the week. Why work when you can read fun stuff?!

This post is part of our Endnotes series.

rule

This Renaissance palace, emerging from the mouth of a limestone cave, is Predjama Castle in Slovenia. It’s been a place of refuge and fortification for more than 800 years, and the caves behind and under the castle hold centuries of secrets. According to legend, the knight Erazem of Predjama — known as the Slovenian Robin Hood — used the caves as a home base for his adventures. Today, the Postojna Cave Park is home to a colony of bats. {read more; 3D virtual visit}

  • Bilbo Baggins is the ultimate icon of self-care. #teamelevensies

  • What a treat! Read Elizabeth McCracken’s new short (funny, romantic) story ‘Two Sad Clowns’ — from her upcoming collection The Souvenir Museum, out 21 April 2021.

  • Norway’s friluftsliv is the new ‘hygge,’ and might be just the thing to help us all get through winter with the best possible attitude. (On a personal note: David and I are 100% prepared to bundle up to sit at outdoor cafés this winter. Picnic in a snow shower? You bet!)

  • Finally! The New York Times demystifies how its best-seller list is put together. Spoiler: The top-ranking books are not always the best books.

  • This Bedoin Tree Shed (and winner of the ‘Shed of the Year’ competition) looks like an excellent place to get lost in a book. _ ‘The floor is oak plank scribed around the root structure of the majestic ash tree it encases, main roots giving direction of the way the floor is designed at differing levels, every now and again popping above the floorboards to remind you this living tree is worthy of adoration.’_

 actors on a stage overlooking the ocean with bookshelves and easy chairs

  • We can all relate: the agony of a book hangover.

  • Fans of Jane and Jane — Jane Eyre and Jane Austen that is: There is a lot of really cute Jane Eyre merch here for you. And The New Yorker digs into what people get wrong when they read Austen. (And let’s all pledge that we will continue to gently right the wrongs when well-intentioned people confuse the two Janes.)

  • I’m not sure how to describe this art installation In the Pines by Christina Pettersson, except to say that I’m moved by it, and I wish I could have experienced it in person. It’s appropriately eerie for this time of year and this time of life. More photos and story here and here.

  • Cool event alert: The Iceland Writers Retreats is offering two FREE online events in October: an Introduction to Icelandic Writers (Wednesday 14 October; 12 noon ET/9 a.m. PT/5 p.m. GMT) and Mini Workshop and author Q&A with Ruth Reichl (memoirist, editor, and bestselling food writer) and Neel Mukherjee (Man Booker Prize nominee) (Thursday 15 October; 12 noon ET/9 a.m. PT/5 p.m. GMT).

  • Sort of related: Atlas Obscura is offering some really interesting (but not free) multi-session online courses… like ‘How to Make a Murder: Writing Your Own Murder Mystery Party’ and ‘Cartooning Folklore & Family History.’ I’m also oddly interested in this one.

  • Bookish podcast of the week: In this audio essay novelist and nature writer Melissa Harrison talks about the joy of ‘sleeping with books’ at Gladstone’s Library in north Wales. Gladstone’s is the only residential library in the UK. I was won over by her use of the phrase ‘castle-y bits.’ (Take a peek at pics of Gladstone’s, and here’s more about the library.

  • Travel podcast of the week: Let’s Go Together is an excellent podcast from Travel + Leisure. In this episode, host Kellee Edwards (herself a pilot and adventurer) talks to two cultural ambassadors for the US states of Hawaii and Alaska — Kumu Micah Kamohoali’i from the Waimea on Hawaii’s Big Island, and Alyssa London, a TV producer and author who is a member of the Tlingit Tribe from Angoon, Alaska.

 

Who’s ready for hot tea, cozy sweaters, and great books?!

Top image courtesy of Omar Sotillo Franco/Unsplash.

Want to keep up with our book-related adventures? Sign up for our newsletter!

keep reading

Every Friday, we share our favorite book- and travel-related links. This week, we've got living in a British village, a new writing competition, quirky museums, LGBTQ+ travel books, letter-writing supplies, and more.
Every Friday, we share our favorite book- and travel-related links. This week, we've got stranger-than-fiction locations, dog-related vocab, a book-inspired bracelet, Hawaii stories, National Park photos, and more.
Every Friday, we share our favorite book- and travel-related links. This week, we've got Stephen King with cats, stunning lectures from Hilary Mantel, an alphabet made of trees, a free online Poe festival, and more.

sharing is caring!

Can you help us? If you like this article, share it your friends!

comments!
our mission

Strong Sense of Place is a website and podcast dedicated to literary travel and books we love. Reading good books increases empathy. Empathy is good for all of us and the amazing world we inhabit.

get our newsletter
We'll never share your email with anyone else. Promise.

This is a weekly email. If you'd like a quick alert whenever we update our blog, subscribe here.

no spoilers. ever.

We'll share enough detail to help you decide if a book is for you, but we'll never ruin plot twists or give away the ending.

super-cool reading fun
reading atlas 2020!

This 30-page 2020 Reading Atlas takes you around the world with dozens of excellent books and gorgeous travel photos. Get your free copy when you subscribe to our newsletter.

get our newsletter
We'll never share your email with anyone else. Promise.
follow us

Content on this site is © 2020 by Smudge Publishing, unless otherwise noted. Peace be with you, person who reads the small type.